Jump to the main content block

Professor Kin-Lu Wong Top Electronics and Electrical Engineering Scientist in Taiwan according to ranking by Research.com


Research.com has recently released the 2022 edition of Top Scientists Rankings in 8 research fields. A total of 12 scientists from NSYSU entered the rankings in 5 different fields. Among them, National Chair Professor of the Ministry of Education and Professor of NSYSU Department of Electrical Engineering Kin-Lu Wong was ranked #1 in Taiwan and #99 in the world ranking in the field of Electronics and Electrical Engineering.

The world's first cell phone was introduced 40 years ago. Heavy carbonado case cell phones from the past have become slim and compact, and the antenna thereof used to be external, now it’s hidden. These changes occurred with the progress in communication technology. One of the most critical changes in design is the cell phone or smartphone antenna design. Professor Wong has been dedicated to mobile antenna research for 32 years and specializes in antenna design for wireless communication, antenna engineering, and electromagnetic theory. His research team has published over 900 scientific journal papers and conference papers. The team’s planar antenna designs received over 300 patents in the US, Europe, Taiwan, and China. His antenna laboratory is among the world's leading. Seizing the opportunity of industry-academia cooperation, Professor Wong’s graduated students have been recruited into many professional companies in the fields of smartphone, laptop computer, and network communication. Professor Wong has shared his technology with nearly half of the world's top ten smartphone manufacturers.

Professor Kin-Lu Wong holds the title of National Chair Professor of the Ministry of Education, and he is also a Highly Cited Researcher of Thomson Reuters and a Fellow of Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE). Previously, he was awarded the Academic Award by the Ministry of Education, the Pan Wen-Yuan Foundation Award for Outstanding Research, and several Outstanding Research Awards of the Ministry of Science and Technology. His antenna design was listed by the Ministry of Science and Technology as one of the 50 major research achievements in Taiwan in the past half century.

Professor Kin-Lu Wong said that the future of communication technology lies in fast data transmission and wide coverage. His research team has worked on the development of MIMO (multi-input-multi-output) antenna applications for smartphones, successfully obtaining a much higher transmission rate and verifying the feasibility of MIMO antenna applications. Nowadays, the smartphone industry has also established the MIMO antenna application as an important trend in mobile communication. His visionary research is leading the industry. Currently, Professor Wong is striving to develop high-density MIMO antenna structures. In addition to breaking through the number of MIMO antennas in the smartphone, he hopes to further reduce the total size of MIMO antennas, thereby developing the high-density MIMO antennas. The technique is envisioned to lead the antenna designs for across 5G and 6G mobile terminals to meet the needs of the new generation of mobile communications with high transmission rates and wide coverage.

The rankings by Research.com list scholars who have an H-index of at least 30 and have been actively publishing research papers after 2014. In the field of Electronics and Electrical Engineering, Research.com has carefully selected over 4,832 scientists from Google Scholar and Microsoft Academic Graph. A total of 65 scientists from Taiwan made it to the list. Professors from NSYSU that were entered into the rankings include: the late National Chair Professor Ting-Peng Liang (who entered two rankings: ‘Business and Management’ and ‘Engineering and Technology’), Professor Shiao-Wei Kuo of the Department of Materials and Optoelectronic Science, Professors of the Department of Chemistry Wei-Lung Tseng, Hui-Fen Wu, and Jentaie Shiea, Professors of the Department of Marine Biotechnology and Resources Chang-Yih Duh and Jyh-Horng Sheu (all in the ranking for ‘Chemistry’), Professor Ting-Chang Chang of the Department of Physics, Professor Chao-Kai Wen of the Institute of Communications Engineering, and Professor Tsung-Ming Tsai of the Department of Materials and Optoelectronic Science (for Engineering and Technology).
Click Num: